Return to Home/Index Page  

Beginners Astrology Tutorial
6. Planets in signs.

See Rules for Horoscope Intrepretation for an introduction to this subject.

1. Any planet in a sign increases the power of that sign to be impressed upon the mind and desires of the person then born.

2. Patterns:
The majority of planets in one mode of activity:
Cardinal sign planets increase urge to 'action'.
Fixed sign planets increase tenacity, tendancy to plan before starting and to be slow to stop.
Mutable (also called common) sign planets increase flexability, changability and mental tendancies.

The majority of planets in one element:
Fire signs tenated give drive, zest, warmth.
Earth signs tenated give practical, down to earth attitudes.
Air signs tenated give love of communication, ideas, relationship.
Water signs tenated give good memory, psychic sensitivity.
The above points are covered in the introduction, 'Rules'.

3. Rulership and exaltation are planetary placements which typically are more easily and strongly expressed. Angular placements as well as the houses which are the 'natural houses' of a planet are usually easily expressed planetary positions.

Rulership is an important concept because no matter which house or sign a planet is found, the natural characteristics of its 'ruled' sign will be expressed at that position. In addition, the character of the sign position the planet actually occupies will also be expressed. The part of life which will be most affected will typically be revealed by the house position.

So what are the signs in which a planet is said to rule?

To the left we have a wheel with the Moon shown in the sign Cancer. The Sun is shown in the Sign Leo. These are rulership signs for the two 'lights'.
The planet with the orbit closest to the Sun is Mercury. We show Mercury next to the 2 signs ruled by the Sun and Moon. These 2 signs ruled by Mercury are Gemini and Virgo.
The next planet beyond Mercury is Venus. Venus is shown in the next 2 signs adjacent to Mercury's signs. Venus rules Taurus and Libra.
The next planet beyond Venus is the Earth, however the Earth is shown in one sense by the Moon, and in another by the part of Fortune. Thus the next planet beyond Earth's orbit, Mars rules the next two signs, which are Aries and Scorpio.
The next planet beyond Mars is Jupiter. Jupiter rules the next two signs, which are Pisces and Sagittarius.
The next planet beyond Jupiter is Saturn. Saturn is the last planet in the traditional rulership scheme, and it rules the two signs just opposite to the Sun and Moon's signs. Aquarius is opposite to Leo, Capricorn is opposite to Cancer.
In the table below, you will note that each planet is in "detriment" just opposite to the sign where it rules. Each planet is in Fall in the sign opposite to where it is exalted.
Rulership means a natural affinity of vibration and purpose.
Exaltation is a position where a planet expresses its best and most powerful position.
Detriment is a position of less confident expression, a feeling of 'not being at home'.
Fall is a position of needing to learn a non typical expression of that planets characteristics.

Planet Rulership Detriment Exaltation Fall
Sun Leo Aquarius Aries Libra
Moon Cancer Capricorn Taurus Scorpio
Mercury Gemini and Virgo Pisces and Sagittarius Aquarius or VirgoLeo and Pisces
Venus Taurus and Libra Scorpio and AriesPisces Virgo
Mars Aries and Scorpio Taurus and LibraCapricorn Cancer
Jupiter Pisces and Sagittarius Gemini and VirgoCancer Capricorn
Saturn Aquarius and Capricorn Cancer and Leo Libra Aries
Uranus Aquarius Leo Scorpio Taurus
Neptune Pisces VirgoCancer Capricorn
Pluto Scorpio Taurus [?] [?]

For a discription of each sign, each planet, each planet in a sign, each planet in a house and aspects between the planets:
See Message of the Stars
Max Heindel
Augusta Foss Heindel Table of Contents, for Message of the Stars

Tutorial Index   Tutorial #7

Back to TOP of page.     Return to Home/Index page.